Bacon Bit Chocolate Chip Cookies

Bacon makes everything better, right?  The more bacon the better!  However, at first I wasn’t convinced that mixing bacon bits into chocolate chip cookies would make a delicious dessert.  I found an easy recipe on Pinterest and I decided to put it to the test.  The results were these mouthwatering, chewy, sweet and savory cookies that were snatched up and gobbled in an instant.  And so dubbed a successful baking experiment and a recipe to keep stored for the future.  I’m posting the link to the original recipe by Girl Who Ate Everything below because it was so easy to follow and it made wonderful cookies.  Caramelizing the bacon in brown sugar first is what I think makes the cookies so rich and sweet.  A few notes and photos from me, but for the most part the kudos goes to the original recipe’s creator.  Thank you Girl Who Ate Everything for sharing this yummy recipe!

IMG_4432

Bacon Bit and Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

I cooked the bacon as the recipe called for, but when I flipped it over, about 10 minutes into cooking, I topped all of the bacon with more brown sugar and I recommend doing this.  I also used mini semi-sweet chocolate chips and I added a 3 oz bacon infused chocolate bar (broken into chip size) to add flavor.  I bought this Mo’s Dark Bar at Whole Foods for $7.99 for the right occasion and it was worth every cent.  Those melted triangle chunks of chocolate you can see in my cookies are pieces of this rich, dark, bacon infused chocolate.

The recipe says to bake for 13-15 minutes; I think 12-13 is good, I say pull them out as they start to look golden because softer is better for these cookies with their chewy texture, you don’t want them to overbake and taste crunchy or dry and hard.  Also, smaller balls of dough are better; my first tray of cookies baked into each other because I made them too big.  Let’s be honest, bite-size is better anyways…the more to share!

chococookies

IMG_4430

Bon appetite,

Chelsea

Leave a Reply

