Fudgin’ Fantastic

Fudgin’ Fantastic Brownie Recipe

brownie batter

Pardon my French, but these brownies are so fudge-tastically sweet AND they are super easy to bake.  I found the recipe in one of my favorite cookbooks, The Essential Chocolate Chip Cookbook.  I adapted it to make it more my own, while maintaining the chocolate, fudgy texture, so the recipe is a mix of directions from the book and from me.  I don’t have a 9-inch square baking pan, so as you can see, I improvised with a smaller glass pan and a heart shaped pan.  You can make almost anything work in the kitchen if you know how to improvise and work with what you’ve got.  Because of the two pans, my brownies were thinner than I would have normally made them, but they were so delicious, I couldn’t stop eating them.  I’d have to go back and cut just a little more…and a little bit more.  I actually froze the heart pan, and the frozen brownie makes a good late night snack, although I planned to let it thaw and bring it to a friend’s house.  I think it would also be great chopped into small brownie bites and mixed in with ice cream to be served, maybe even with hot fudge.  So many options!!

Preheat oven to 325° and prepare a 9 inch baking pan (or two smaller pans) with butter or non-stick baking spray

Ingredients:

1 and 2/3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 cups packed light brown sugar

1 teaspoon baking soda

a pinch of salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) of unsalted butter cut into pieces (about tablespoon size pieces, or a little smaller)

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup sour cream (I only had 1/2 a cup so I substituted with 1/2 a cup of plain yogurt, and I added a heaping tablespoon of coconut oil – I could taste the addition of coconut oil and I loved it)

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

For the topping:

an additional 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1/3 cup white chocolate or peanut butter chips (or butterscotch, or dark chocolate…take your pick!)

1 teaspoon vegetable oil

Directions:

1) Mix together the flour, cocoa powder, brown sugar, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl with an electric mixer on slow (I found out that hand-held beaters do NOT work as well because there’s not a low enough speed, so if you’re lacking a mixer, like me, just mix by hand, the good ol’ fashioned baking way).

2) Add the butter pieces and continue to mix until the butter reduces to the size of peas, for about 2 minutes.  Scrape the sides of the bowl as you mix, combining any loose flour.

3) Mix in the egg and vanilla until combined (the batter will still look very dry).

4) Mix in sour cream and coconut oil until the batter is evenly combined and no longer a dry consistency.

brownie batters

5) Lastly, stir in the 2 cups chocolate chips and spread into your prepared pan.  Stop and lick the spoon.

Bake for about 45 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out mostly clean.  My brownies cooked in 35-40 minutes because they were thinner.  Let them cool completely before adding the topping

baked brownies

For the topping: Melt the semisweet chocolate chips in the microwave with a couple drops of vegetable oil until smooth, and drizzle over the brownies with a fork.  Repeat the process with peanut butter chips or white chocolate chips.  I chose peanut butter chips, and it made the brownies taste like amazing Reese’s fudge.  On my heart brownie, I spread melted semisweet chips only, for the any nut allergy friends I might want to share it with.

brownie pan heart pan

Enjoy the sweet eats and share with your chocoholic friends!

Chelsea

Source: Klivans, Elinor.  “Chocolate Chip Fudge Brownies With Dark and White Drizzle.”  The Essential Chocolate Chip Cookbook.  San Francisco: Chronicle Books, 2008.  Print.

Leave a Reply

